Historical perspective. I stayed during a weekend where there were two weddings. Lots of people and lots of noise. Parties going into the night. Giggling girls next door. No card in room detailing the times of the opening and closing of restaurant, bar, and the downstairs snack and coffee area. My nephew was traveling with me, he fell on mountain and twisted his ankle. I asked for a wheelchair that was provided. I asked if there was a doctor in the house. He said no. Never asked if I needed any assistance. Just walked away upon giving me the wheelchair. When placed reservation asked for a mountain view, did not get.
The restaurant was fantastic and the servers knew everything about the dishes and wines they offered. Very warm and friendly, yet professional. The front desk bent over backwards to make sure any and all our questions were answered and that we were well taken care of.
The Stanley is lovely: It's comfortable and the location is amzaing. The great staff and elegant ambiance, made it a pleasurable experience.
Most of staff was excellent and hotel is over 100 years old and a very interesting place to stay. Heating is very poor when cold and windy and also found out they do not have air conditioning for summer months.
The staff was very helpful. The facilities did not disappoint!
The architecture and old stuff Yes. The wedding guests were on cell phones and closing doors and drunk keeping us wake past 2 am. We had no phone in our room to call down to the desk for security. We told the revelers that "people were trying to sleep." And the young man's response was "I'm trying to get into my room."
The staff did a great job of attending to our needs No air conditioning made the room very uncomfortable.
The outside is very stately. There are alot of people wandering around who are not guests. There was always something going on.
I loved the history and ambience at The Stanley Hotel. It has such a great story behind it and you just can't help but love the Stanley's for their kindness and devotion to this place. Only that they did not have any type of room service or drink machines on any of the floors.
Sense of history No pool are real recreations facilities
Very pleasant, older hotel with nice accommodations, including free WiFi. Appears to need a lot of little thing fixed (windows don't open right, etc). Also, no AC in rooms.
Old time ambiance. Bed was uncomfortable. Bathroom small and dingy.
Nothing People at reception were rude. Room was dirty with stained towels. I checked out immediatelyl.
The lobby had what can only be described as random junk lying about everywhere. There were three buildings, we were in the far back where a giant tree was in the middle of the parking lot, making parking quite an adventure. The carpet in the room didn't make it to all the walls and there was a moat of dirt surrounding the interior of the room. The linens had holes. There was a light out back that shone right in our window all night through clothes pinned curtains. Finally, worst of the worst, a square yard of mold was on the wall. Do not stay here. It would take a lot for me to ever stay at an Econo Lodge again.
They staff were friendly. The room was VERY unclean. When I say this, please don't take it as someone snobby with impossible standards. I'm not that kind of person. It looked like the coffee maker had never been cleaned (you could see old coffee from multiple uses). One of the beds we pulled back the sheets and found dirt. The picture frames weren't even hung. They were on the floor. The walls were paper thin, so you could hear EVERYTHING going on outside. It's an external access motel. Overall, staff was very nice...room was very dirty. I wouldn't recommend this place.
This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.
Beautiful views from the hotel, friendly staff, definitely a two-star hotel but if you're in Estes most of your time will hopefully be spent outdoors anyway!
This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.
clean,good breakfast,onsite laundry no
Our room had a giant hot tub inside it- what a random and nice surprise! The breakfast selections left a lot to be desired..
The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on.
Location and availability. No housekeeping service, and were not warned/told about this. Good thing we hand and reuse towels.
Friendly staff Stained carpets, shabby walls, no counters in bathroom, cramped room and very over priced
It's near the entrance of national park and some plaza to get food. My room was so dark, so old , hasn't been revonated for a long time.....especially the front desk would be closed after 9....we couldn't change our room...
Good location Staff was personable Beds were comfortable Bathroom is very small - no other dislikes
Nice old-fashioned motel just a couple of miles from the heart of Estes Park. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.
Housekeeping made up the room each day and took the towels and did not leave new towels. Had to ask for them
The rooms are always top notch and it's great to have a private hot tub to soak in and enjoy the amazing views. wish our hot tub had a little more privacy. Parking is a little bit of a pain when trying to pack everything with a small kid and your car is pretty far away down stairs at altitude.
The view from the porch of the hotel was beautiful and the Estes Park area is wonderful. Very loud hotel hard to sleep. Very much in need of updating.
This place has charm galore! My husband and I reserved a 1 night getaway from Denver and it was so worth it! We arrived a bit later than expected but we were able to get in and up to our room. The hotel was putting on a special event "mystery dinner" so we joined in. We had such a blast!! The room was perfect for the amazing Estes Park setting. Bed super comfy and the Claw tub/shower was great too! There was even a full length mirror which is always a must for a lady! It would be awesome if the hotel served breakfast even if it's something to grab and go. We went to the Historic Stanley Hotel for breakfast but we would have much rather preferred to spend our money here for breakfast
Fantastic location, right Downtown. Walk to everywhere. Vey clean, and a very large room. Slept 4, and never bumped into each other. Very minor---awake each morning to the sound of the trash trucks at the neighboring restaurants. But, not a significant complaint.
clean Priceline presented this as a 4-star hotel when it was actually a 2.5 to 3 star hotel. Poor plumbing fixtures, exposed closets (no doors), cheap countertops, extremely non-existant amenities, zero staff on duty to help with anything.
Spacious room. Comfortable beds. Two separate dressing areas with sinks. Wifi was easy to access and worked well. Parking space was always available. When I made a list on day two asking for specific items such as all black rather than green tea and coffee with caffeine rather than decaf plus extra creamer, the owner replied with a snooty note. Not appreciated.
4 star room Only problem is the insulation between upstairs and down We were down and could hear every step above us
Rooms were clean and comfortable Location Staff Sitting room chairs very uncomfortable
The location was perfect. We could walk to supper, and walk downtown. Parking was ok but a bit crowded.
The room was perfect for our needs. My husband only stayed one night and I was able to get a lot of work done in the comfort of the room for the next two nights. The location is great if you're looking for a place that is central to town. The only things are: not enough parking I'm sure in high season and they need a trash can outside for cig butts and other trash.
The room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of space. It's a small hotel so it was hard to find. Hidden behind a restaurant and it also looks more like a apartment complex. Kinda of disappointed when we enter the parking lot but the room made up for it. We could hear the room below fighting.